How to Block Room Availability

Follow

In this article, we will review the types of room blocks on myfrontdesk and their functionality.

How to block availability for all channels and direct reservations

The following options will close availability for: all connected channels (OTAs), booking engine, and manual reservations within the system.

Property Owner can create room blocks by default. The rest of the users must be granted permission by the Property Owner. Learn more about Roles and Permissions.

Availability Matrix - Block an entire accommodation type

Option 1. Long term intervals

Use this option to block various accommodations for long periods of time.

  1. Access the Rates and Availability tab > Availability Matrix
  2. Click on + Long-Term Interval
  3. Select the accommodation(s) you wish to block
  4. Insert the start and end date of the block
  5. Select the day(s) of the week that in which you wish to apply the block
  6. In the Interval Settings, select Accommodation Blocked
  7. To the side, switch the Accommodation Blocked toggle to Yes
  8. Click on Add Interval
  9. Click on Save

To undo these changes, follow the step-by-step process above, however, on Step 7 switch Accommodation Blocked toggle to No.

Option 2. Short term intervals

Use this option to set a block for a short period of time. 

  1. Access Rates and Availability > Availability Matrix
  2. Make sure that Accommodation Blocked is checked in the Display Options menu
  3. Find the room you wish to block dates for and check the dates you want to close in the Accommodation Blocked row.
  4. Save

Checked boxes will turn blue to remind you which ones you have already selected.

How to unblock the accommodation type

To unblock the accommodation type for a long period at once, follow the steps Option 1. Long-Term Intervals , on Step 7 switch Accommodation Blocked toggle to No.

Or, unblock each date by unchecking the box Accommodation Blocked, see Option 2. Short-Term Intervals

Calendar (blocking a specific room unit or bed)

Option 1. Blocked Dates

This method allows you to block specific rooms/beds in the calendar without closing the entire room type.

On the Calendar:

  1. Find the unit that you want to block
  2. Click on the start date of the block
  3. Click on the end date of the block. As soon as you click on it, a yellow block will appear on top of the selected period with the suggested options.
  4. Select Blocked Dates

After selecting the Blocked Dates option you will then be prompted to:

  1. Confirm the dates
  2. Confirm the accommodations that will be blocked
  3. Provide the reason for the block which will serve for internal use only
  4. Save

The block with the (internal) block description will appear in gray on the Calendar.

Option 2. Out of Service

This method allows you to block specific rooms/beds in the calendar without closing the entire room type

Selecting the Out of Service option is similar to using the Blocked Dates option, but will create a Red stripe on the calendar instead of gray.

On the Calendar:

  1. Find the unit that you want to block
  2. Click on the start date of the block
  3. Click on the end date of the block. As soon as you click on it, a yellow block will appear on top of the selected period with the suggested options.
  4. Select Out of Service

After selecting the Out of Service option you will then be prompted to:

  1. Confirm the dates
  2. Confirm the accommodations that will be blocked
  3. Provide the reason for the block which will serve for internal use only
  4. Save
Option 3. Courtesy Hold (temporary room hold)

Courtesy Hold is a type of block which holds certain accommodation for a specific number of days/hours for a guest. You may create a courtesy hold on calendar and convert it into a reservation in case the guest confirms the hold.

Follow the steps: How to Create and Edit Room Hold

How to clear/remove the room block

On the Calendar:

  1. Find the unit that you want to unblock and click the block
  2. Select Clear Dates

How to block availability for specific channels only

The option Closeouts will close availability for specific channels (OTAs) only. The room type will still be available for booking engine and manual reservations within the system.

Property Owner can manage Closeouts by default. The rest of the users must be granted permission to access Distribution by the Property Owner. Learn more about Roles and Permissions

Follow the steps:

  1. Click Manage
  2. Under the Channel Distribution menu, select Closeout
  3. Click on the New Date Range
  4. Select the start and end date for your block
  5. Select which channels in which this block will be applied
  6. Choose which rooms type you wish to close
  7. Save

The closeout and its details will be displayed on the Closeout page. You may click the gear icon next to it to edit or delete the closeout.

Powered by Zendesk