Overbooking features in Cloudbeds PMS

This article provides a comprehensive overview of the available features for controlling overbookings in Cloudbeds PMS. Learn how enabling or disabling these features can impact the system's behavior.

Overview

In most cases a property would want to stop selling rooms if they are at 100% occupancy, but there are some cases where a property would like to allow additional bookings.

This is applicable when the property is at least at 100% occupancy, where one of the room types is already overbooked, but another still has availability. Currently, there are two overbooking options in Cloudbeds PMS:

  1. Allow additional bookings option in the General System Settings
  2. Allow Overbookings on the Availability Matrix
1. Allow additional bookings when property is at full occupancy

Access the feature

  1. Go to the System page in the Account menu
  2. In the Preferences tab, go to the Allow additional bookings when property is at full occupancy feature. Click to enable or disable

Remember to save your settings once the overbooking toggle has been enabled/disabled.

1.1. If this feature is OFF

This is applicable when the property is at no less than 100% occupancy, where one of the room types is already overbooked, but another still has availability.

For example:

If there is over 100% occupancy (overbooking in a particular room type, for example, the African Beauty Room below) but there is still availability in other rooms, like the Standard Double Room (2), the following will happen:

  • The calendar will show real numbers (remaining inventory and overbookings)
  • Cloudbeds will send 0 for all room types to the Cloudbeds Channel Manager (myallocator) and all connected channels.
  • It will be impossible to make a booking via the Cloudbeds Booking Engine or on the Calendar (even though the other room types will show availability)

The described behavior above is true for all Reservation Sources apart from Third Party Sources (this option always allows  overbookings to be created)

1.2. If this feature is ON
  • The rooms that still have availability (the Standard Double Room in our previous example) will still be sold on the connected channels and in the Booking Engine.
  • It will be possible to create new reservations via Create new neservation on the Calendar
Was this article helpful?
4 out of 7 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.