This article will help you find the answers to the most common questions about the Booking.com channel.
ISSUE: When Booking.com sends us a booking, they include a value for the "Occupancy" of the booking. This value actually corresponds with the occupancy of the entire room - not necessarily the true number of guests that booked the room.
In this example, we have a booking for a 6 person private room.
However, on the channel the guest actually specified the following information:
- 2 Adults
- 2 Children
What our channel manager received: Since this is a Private 6 person room, Booking.com actually sent the number of occupants as 6 (full occupancy of the room) and not the actual number of the guest (4).
This is how the connection is designed and cannot be changed on our channel manager side. For further information on this topic please contact your Booking.com Account Manager.
Background: Since Strong Customer Authentication was enforced for European customers/properties, Booking.com chat system automatically removes the links necessary for the payment approval from the emails.
Strong Customer Authentication (SCA) is a new requirement of the second Payment Services Directive (PSD2), which aims to add extra layers of security to electronic payments, such as 3D Secure.
- For you to charge the card, the guest needs to approve the payment, but since the links are removed, you need to contact the guest, ask for their email address, change the email address on the credit card billing information, run the payment again, and then the guest has to approve it.
- To avoid such a situation for the future, you can switch to channel collect type of payment method.
- If previous solutions didn't work for you, you need to mark the credit card as invalid. This is the solution for the situation when credit card cannot be charged and the guest cannot be contacted. Here are the instructions on how to do it:
How do I mark a credit card as invalid? This will notify booking.com that you cannot charge the card and will cancel the reservation.
Booking.com has a setting called "Auto Replenish." This setting causes a room to open back up when a Booking.com reservation has been cancelled, and it's totally independent of the channel manager and/or PMS.
Reason: When a Booking.com reservation is cancelled on the Booking.com extranet by a guest, the channel will automatically open the room and rate for the dates that the booking had been previously booked under, even if those rooms/rates are closed by the channel manager. This can lead to unexpected availability and thus could potentially cause an overbooking.
As per Booking.com Support team, there are 2 types of "Auto Replenish":
This option is integrated by default to all properties on Booking.com and cannot be deactivated. Whenever a cancellation comes through Booking.com, the room is put back on sale automatically to give the property another chance at reselling it.
Auto-replenishment on closed rooms
This feature can be deactivated at the property level, however, the general auto-replenishment for Booking.com cancellations will remain active. Deactivating this feature means that if the room/date is closed in red (stop sell), it will not be auto-replenished even if there are cancellations.
The first option above is normally enabled by default but is agreed on in the commercial agreement between the property and Booking.com Account Manager. If you want to change this, please contact your Booking.com Account Manager.
REASON: Let's suppose that the property closed a specific room for three days in myfrontdesk.
On Booking.com extranet the same room with Standard rate was closed for reservations as well.
However, you can see that there is still 1 availability for this room with a Non-refundable rate. Myallocator (channel manager by Cloudbeds) only manages XML enabled rate plans. In this particular case, it is only the Standard rate.
That's the reason why availability wasn't closed for the Non-refundable rate, and the booking was allowed.
SOLUTION: There are 2 ways to fix it.
1. Manually manage availability for this rate plan on the Booking.com extranet.
2. Contact your Booking.com account manager and ask him/her to XML enable this rate plan. So both availability and rates are derived from the Standard rate and thus managed by the channel manager.
Channel Collect means the channel (Booking.com) collects the payment from your guests, whereas Hotel Collect is when you charge your guests directly. More information: What is the difference between Booking.com Channel Collect and Hotel Collect bookings?
You can charge the VCC within the period the card is active and respecting the balance available in the card. Learn more: Booking.com Virtual Credit Card (VCC) - Everything you need to know
With Channel Collect you can get the payment via virtual credit cards (VCCs) or bank transfer from Booking.com depending on the agreement you have with the channel.
If the payment method is VCC, the card will be included in the reservation and you can process it. Learn more: Booking.com Virtual Credit Card (VCC) - Everything you need to know
Otherwise, you should receive the payout via bank transfer from Booking.com. Contact your Booking.com Account Manager for more information.