Why guest name in folio is changed/why random name appears on folio?

Follow

If you have noticed a situation when the guest's name was changed in the folio , please check the possible reason and troubleshooting below.

Auto-fill function

This situation can happen due to the autofill function.

The autofill function is useful when you have a repetitive guest, so when adding a new reservation you can just start typing the name or email and the system will suggest to autofill the guest's details.

But, if you select the wrong guest profile, it can cause issues. Please check the following example:

Let's suppose that you are adding a new reservation for a guest called John Harrot.

When you start typing the guest's name (John), the system will suggest all the existing guest profiles named "John" that previously stayed at your property.

[Demo] Mountain Resort & SPA - Reservations - Google Chrome

If John Harrot, the new guest, has never stayed at your property before, you shouldn't select any of the system's suggestions because the system will fill in the information of the selected guest profile. Even if you accidentally select the name from the suggested ones, the system will suggest that you create a new customer in case the selected guest information is not correct.

[Demo] Mountain Resort & SPA - Reservations - Google Chrome

Click on '+New Customer' and fill out the correct information about your new guest.

What should I do if I created the reservation using the wrong guest profile?

If you have selected a suggested guest profile and saved/created a reservation with the incorrect name, the reservation becomes connected with the guest profile you selected.

Since the guest profile is connected to all previous and new reservations created with the same guest profile, when you edit the name (or any other info, such as email) for the newly created reservation, the system will also change it for past reservations associated with the guest profile

Currently, it is not possible to disconnect the guest profile from the reservations. To avoid changing guest information from past reservations, we recommend you to delete the newly created reservation and add it again, without using the autofill function.

Here is an article with the details on How to delete a reservation.

Also, if you noticed that the name on the invoice is different from the guest's name, you can refer to this article for help.

Have more questions? Contact Support

Comments

Powered by Zendesk