Groups - Adding and Linking Reservations to Group Profile

Follow

Once you've created a Group Profile you can link your existing reservations to the group or quickly import them on the "Manual Quick Import" page. If your group has Allotment Blocks you will also be able to select an Allotment Block when creating a new reservation, thus adding the booking to that block.

You can easily check, edit or unlink the reservations which belong to the Group under the "Reservations" tab on the Group page.

Adding and Linking Reservations

Linking Existing Reservation to a Group

It is possible to have the transactions routed automatically to the the Group Folio when you are linking the reservation. Please follow the steps described in the article: Setup Automatic Routing of Transactions to Group Folio

1. Click on the Groups tab and open the desired Group profile.

2. Open "Reservations" tab.

3. Click "+Add Reservation" then "Link Existing Reservation."

4. (Optional) Select Allotment Block to add the reservation to.

5. Start typing the reservation number or guest name and select the reservation from the drop-down.

6. The reservation will be added to the list. You can add as many reservations as needed.

Click "Add Reservations" when done.

Please note that if you select a specific Allotment Block to assign the reservation to, there should be availability in the allotment block for the corresponding dates and the accommodation type, otherwise you will receive an error:

7. The reservation will appear in the list under the "Reservations" tab and the numbers in the Group Profile header will recalculate.

To unlink a reservation, click the gear icon > Unlink Reservation.

Creating New Reservation in a Group

Please note that when an Allotment Block has the ''Tentative” status, no rooms will be allocated from the general inventory. To book reservations from the block, the status needs to be updated to "Definite". Learn more about Groups Allotment Blocks in our Knowledge Base: Groups - Allotment Blocks Overview

1. Click on the Groups tab and open the desired Group profile.

2. Open "Reservations" tab.

3. Click "+Add Reservation" then "Create and Add New Reservation."

4. You will be redirected to "New Reservation" page where you may select "Allotment Block" to add the reservation to:

- This new field (selection of Allotment Block) will also be available on the Reservations page when accessed from outside of Groups, as long as you have your Groups module enabled.  

- Make sure to select proper Check-In and Check-Out dates in order for the Allotment Block to show in the dropdown and for the correct availability to be displayed on the page after clicking "Search."

- When creating a new reservation within a Group Profile (not linking an existing one) you will be required to select an Allotment Block, which will define the availability displayed after clicking "Search."

Proceed with creating the reservation by following the usual process:

Once the reservation is created it will be automatically added to the Group profile (and the selected Allotment Block). You may find it under the "Reservations" tab:

On the calendar, for the reservations that are booked within a Group Profile or an Allotment Block, the system will display the "+" sign next to the names and "3 people" icon next to the reservation name when you click on it to open up details group profile name next to the icon. On this pop-up, you have

  • A link to "View Group Profile"
  • A link to "View Allotment Block" (if a reservation is also in an Allotment Block)
Importing Reservations to a Group

1. On the Reservations page click "Reservation Import Options"

2. Select Group Profile from the drop-down

3. Select Allotment Block of the Group Profile (optional)

4. Click "+Add Reservation" and fill out the reservation details

5. Click SAVE

6. The imported reservations will appear in the Group Profile under the "Reservations" tab:

Editing Reservations in a Group

Bulk Actions with Reservations in a Group

Currently, the following bulk actions to the reservations in Groups are available:

  • Check-in
  • Check-out
  • Add payment*
  • Delete reservations

*"Add Payment" action will add the payment transaction to the reservations and will automatically route it to the group folio if routing is set up for that transaction type.

Please note that "Delete reservations" does NOT mean unlinking them from the group. This action will delete the reservations from myfrontdesk, and this action cannot be undone.

To unlink a reservation from a Group see instructions in section "Unlinking Reservation from a Group" below.

1. Click on the Groups tab and open the desired Group profile.

2. Open "Reservations" tab.

3. Select the reservations to perform the bulk action on.

4. Click "Bulk Action" and select the action:

5. Confirm the action in a new window:

Unlinking Reservation from a Group

To unlink a reservation:

1. In Group Profile open the Reservations tab.

2. Next to the desired reservation click the gear icon > Unlink Reservation.

Unlinking a reservation from a Group is not possible when there are posted transactions that have been routed to the Group Folio.

If pending routed transactions exist (and no posted routed) then unlinking that reservation will also remove all routing from that Group.

Unlinking reservation vs "Allow Overbookings" feature

When unlinking  a reservation that was created with allotment type "Block", please pay attention on the availability in the Remaining Inventory.  Learn more about Groups Allotment Blocks in our Knowledge Base: Groups - Allotment Blocks Overview

Once the reservation is unlinked, the allotment block will still be held for the group and the system will instead use availability from your  inventory to accommodate this booking.

If there is "0" or less availability in the inventory the following will happen:

  • If  'Allow Overbooking' setting is disabled, you will NOT be able to unlink the reservation from the Group.
  • If 'Allow Overbooking' is enabled, you will be able to unlink the reservation from the Group. In which case, the availability in Remaining Inventory will become negative (if Amount Allotted For Sale is configured to be lower or higher than the Remaining Inventory, system will take the Amount Allotted For Sale into account).

Example:

Let's suppose you have 1 room type with 5 rooms available >  3 of them are added to the group allotment block (allotment type: block) > by this time, your remaining inventory is 2.

You created a reservation with 3 rooms from this allotment block and you decided to unlink it from the group (this booking will now require 3 rooms from your  inventory).

Because you only had 2 rooms in the remaining inventory and the unlinked reservation took up 3 rooms, your availability is now -1.

When your availability is negative, the system will send 0 availability to your channels (OTAs) and also you will not be able to create a direct reservation, this is to prevent undesirable overbooking.

Solutions:

  1. You can increase the Amount Allotted For Sale adding more availability to accommodate the unlinked reservation and create or receive reservations from OTAs. Please be mindful and take a proper note of your actual availability to avoid unwanted overbooking.
  2. You can change the allotment type to Based on Availability, the system will release the Group Allotment Block and calculate the availability for the unlinked reservation from your Amount Allotted For Sale.
Have more questions? Contact Support

Comments

Powered by Zendesk