Cancelling Reservations

Follow
How to cancel reservation in myfrontdesk
  1. Go to reservation and change its status to 'Cancelled'

2. Select how to proceed with cancellation (whether you want to email the guest)

You can edit Cancellation email on 'Email Templates' page

3. After confirming the cancellation

  • reservation will disappear from the calendar
  • all pending transactions (charges scheduled for future dates) will be removed from folio BUT will remain in balance due.

 

IMPORTANT:

  • amount of pending transactions (room rates) remained in balance due won't affect the revenue reports
  • amount of pending transactions (room rates) remained in balance due will still be displayed when exporting reservations to file and in account balances report
  • if there were posted transactions in reservation - they will remain in folio and balance due. These include charges (debit) done before current date while reservation was put to status 'in-house'

You can check the date of cancellation by moving mouse towards Cancellation # field on reservation details:

How to zero out the balance due for cancelled reservations?

Although amount of pending transactions which remains in balance due doesn't affect revenue reports - some properties will prefer to zero it out so that property staff is aware that the guest shouldn't pay for his stay as he cancelled it.

To zero out the balance due you need to

1) go to reservation and change its status back to confirmed
2) go to 'Accommodation' section and click 'Edit Price'

3) put 0.00 as price for all the dates and click 'Save Updates'

4) put status back to 'Cancelled'. Now balance due equals 0.00

How to Add Cancellation Fee / Cancellation Revenue

Some properties charge guests a cancellation fee. How to handle such cases in myfrontdesk?

1. Inform your guests about cancellation fees
  • For guests booking through the channels - add cancellation policies on OTAs
  • For guests making direct reservations (through myfrontdesk and mybookings) - add cancellation policies in myfrontdesk. They will be displayed on mybookings and be sent in myfrontdesk default emails to guests.

IMPORTANT: Cancellation Policy is only an information field for guests, it does not charge the guests automatically. All charges need to be done manually

2. Add charge for cancellation

There are 2 ways on how to add a charge for cancellation:

  • cancellation manual revenue (recommended)
  • cancellation fee

Cancellation Revenue will be considered in reports as part of room revenue/RevPar, while cancellation fee will be considered as a separate item and won't be included to room revenue/RevPar.

Option A. Adding a cancellation revenue
  1. Go to reservation folio and click 'Add/Adjust Charge' > 'Add Room Revenue'

2. Select revenue type - cancellation, and fill in all the necessary information. You can also apply a tax/fee on top of this charge

3. The charge will appear in folio and will affect the balance due

Option B. Adding a cancellation fee

1. Create a fee on 'Taxes and Fees' page, name it a cancellation fee

2. On reservation folio click 'Add Adjust Charge' > 'Add Exclusive Tax/Fee'

3. Select 'Cancellation fee' and enter the amount of fee:

4. Fee will be added to folio under debit column and will affect balance due:

Canceling Reservations Made on OTA

If the guest books a room at your property through OTA - the cancellation should be done on OTA as well. Please check the article below to find out more about canceling reservations made on OTA:

Canceling/Modifying Reservation Made on OTA

Canceling Reservations for Accounts of type "mybookings only"

In case you are not using Cloudbeds Full account (myfrontdesk + mybookings + myallocator) and have chosen to work with mybookings only (together with myallocator or not) the cancellation process is different.

In this case, restrictions are applied, and you will be unable to change the status of reservation to 'canceled'. If you receive a cancellation request for a reservation that was imported through your website you will have 2 options:

Option A: Add one extra room to the availability
  1. Go to the Availability Matrix
  2. Find the period of the existed reservation and add one extra room available, i.e, if current availability is 0 - you will have to change to 1; if current availability is 2 - you will have to change it to 3.
  3. Double check if it's correct and save it.

If you are not using any PMS, it is recommended to create an internal process for cases like this so your reception team will know that the booking was canceled.

Note: Since you are adding an extra room available, this will cause a fake overbooking because you are saying you have more rooms available than your total inventory. Because of that, if you choose to work with option 1, you will have to allow overbookings. Click here to learn more about "Allow overbooking" option

Option B: Delete the reservation

WARNING: By deleting the reservation, you will lose all the information related to that guest from your data base and it can NOT be undone (information can not be recovered)

If you don't feel confident to work with overbookings, this option is for you:

  1. In the "Reservation" section, find the booking
  2. Double check the details to make sure you will delete the correct one
  3. Click at the "x" and delete the reservation.
Have more questions? Contact Support

Comments

Powered by Zendesk