Reservations received through Hostelworld/Hostelbookers, Tripadvisor Instant Booking, and Coliving channels:
As of May 2019, all reservations received through the following channels: Hostelworld/Hostelbookers, Tripadvisor Instant Bookings, and Coliving can now be cancelled inside myfrontdesk and the cancellation will be sent to the channel directly. Changing the status of the reservation to No-show or making reservation modifications will NOT be forwarded to these channel(s).
Reservations received through all the other connected channels (Expedia, Booking.com, etc.):
These reservations should be cancelled/marked as no-show/modified inside of the OTA's extranet first and then inside myfrontdesk.
Reservations that are created through the OTA channels usually comply to the agreement between you and that specific OTA (channel-specific cancellation/no-show process; channel-specific fees or other payments related to cancellations/modifications/no-shows).
For detailed information on each scenario please check the sections below:
All reservations received through the following channels: Hostelworld/Hostelbookers, Tripadvisor Instant Booking, and Coliving can be canceled inside myfrontdesk and the cancellation will be sent to the channel directly.
- This feature is not applicable for no-show/modifications
- It will cancel any reservation regardless of the rate plan
- This does not include reservations that you entered manually in myfrontdesk - those reservations should be handled manually on the channel's extranet.
- Currently, only the following channels support this feature: Hostelworld/Hostelbookers, Tripadvisor IB, and Coliving.
- For all other channels, check the next section of this article: Cancelling/No-Showing Reservation from all the other Channels connected.
- Access your myfrontdesk account and search for the reservation that you want to cancel.
- Switch the reservation status from confirmed to cancelled.
3. A pop-up message will be displayed, to make clear what action the user should take depending on the channel in question.
If it's a reservation from Hostelworld, Tripadvisor IB, or Coliving, the following warning will be displayed.
If you are not sure if the reservation was manually created or was received from the channel please note that the CANCEL RESERVATION pop up will ONLY be shown for the reservation received from the channels. If you tried cancelling the reservation and you have NOT seen this pop-up, please go to the channel's extranet to cancel the reservation in question.
4. Select how to proceed with the cancellation (whether or not you want to email the guest).
The following warning message will be displayed. Click yes if you're sure you want to cancel the reservation.
If you try to switch the status from cancelled to confirmed in myfrontdesk for a channel that supports API cancellations, be aware that it does not change the status of the booking on the channel. The following warning message will be displayed.
In such cases, please visit the channel's extranet to modify this booking in order to update myfrontdesk.
A common scenario that we see is that a myfrontdesk user will cancel the reservation in myfrontdesk, thinking that it has also been canceled in the channel, which is not the case. Later the guest, property or channel will cancel the reservation officially in the channel and we will receive an update. The update will just confirm that the reservation has been canceled but when this cancellation occurs in the channel it will open up availability through automatic adjustments. Myfrontdesk will override this information but an overbooking may come in as those updates are occurring.
Make sure to cancel your third-party reservations that came into myfrontdesk in that channel's extranet or ask the guest to cancel their reservation.
Note: This does not include third party reservations that you entered manually without entering their third-party ID - those should be canceled in the system.
Does canceling a reservation in an OTA also cancel it in myfrontdesk?
Some channels (such as booking.com, agoda, and expedia) support sending updates about cancellations to myallocator. This allows myfrontdesk to display the booking as "canceled" inside of our system once it has been changed inside the OTA's extranet.
For the channels which do not support sending cancellations to myfrontdesk you need to cancel the reservation on Extranet and then mark the reservation as canceled in myfrontdesk to open the availability.
Check this article to check which channels support sending cancellations to myfrontdesk: Channel Features
The guest booked room A on the channel. The guest then decides to stay in room B but does not modify the booking through the channel, instead he contacts property owner and the change is made in myfrontdesk only. If the guest will then go to the channel and add breakfast to his booking - the channel will send myfrontdesk an update moving the guest back to room A. Basically, anytime a reservation is modified on the channel - it will revert it back to the room assignments as they are made on channel Extranet.
Make sure to modify your third-party reservations that came in through myfrontdesk in that channel's extranet or ask the guest to modify their reservation.
The bookings which are marked as 'In House' in myfrontdesk will not be automatically modified if modification came from the channel. This is designed to guarantee that the guest who has already checked-in won't be 'moved' to another unit. In this case the property will receive an email about modification which should be handled manually (email will be triggered in Email Delivery Log).
Does modifying a reservation in an OTA also modify it in myfrontdesk?
Some channels (such as booking.com, agoda, and expedia) support sending updates to myfrontdesk. This allows myfrontdesk to update the reservation automatically.
For the channels which do not support sending modifications to myfrontdesk you need to modify the reservation on Extranet and then make the modifications in myfrontdesk manually.
Check this article to check which channels support sending modifications to myfrontdesk: Channel Features
There might be reservations which were originally made on OTA but were imported in myfrontdesk manually for different reasons: reservation was made prior to connecting to myfrontdesk or the reservation was made prior to connecting the channel to myfrontdesk.
Changes to these reservations should be done on Extranet too, however they will be automatically applied in myfrontdesk only if:
1) the reservation's third party ID (order ID) in myfrontdesk matches the booking ID on the channel;
2) the change (sending modification, cancellation to myfrontdesk) is supported by the channel;
3)*specifically for modifications - it will be applied if the booking is not 'In-House' (guest has not checked-in yet)
In this case the system will create a duplicate of the booking with the modification already applied.
1) a guest has booked a room A before you connected the channel to myfrontdesk,
2) then you connect the channel to myfrontdesk and import the reservation with room A manually,
3) the guest decides to modify the booking on Extranet and stay in room B.
Scenario 1: If you have not entered the valid source reservation ID for this booking in myfrontdesk - myfrontdesk will create a duplicate booking for the same guest with room B booked. The manually imported booking with room A added will be also left in the system.
Myfrontdesk will send an email notifying you that it couldn't recognize the reservation the modification came in for and it created a new reservation.
Scenario 2: If you have entered valid source reservation ID while importing the booking manually - the modification will be automatically applied and the guest will be moved to room B.
*if a cancellation comes through for a mapped room: The system will create a new canceled reservation. Starting May 2018 we'll also send an email explaining why a new canceled reservation was created (because we couldn't match the cancellation imported from the channel to any existing reservation in the system).
*if a cancelation comes through for an unmapped room: Nothing will happen - no new canceled reservation will be created and existing reservation won't be modified.